Sea creatures share. Otherwise they’d all be shellfish

Sharing is caring.

At least that’s what I try and teach my kindergarten students.

SKU-000450555

Photo Credit: Sharon Lee
At the beginning of the year, you can usually tell which kids have siblings or have been to daycare and have learned how to get along with other children, share their toys and use their words.

After that initial September meeting, my goal is to have a whole classroom who has all of these skills.  Especially the sharing part.

In our latest debate, as the “disagree” side put it, sharing is a good thing. But, we also need to be “share aware.”

When we are striving to be share aware there are two major things that we as parents or teachers can help with:

  1. When sharing things on social media, especially of our students, we need to follow media releases and respect parent and student wishes, and allow students to have a voice in their digital footprint, as Andres suggests
  2. When teaching about digital citizenship, we need to also teach how to share appropriately, as Janelle writes, and be models in the digital world, either as parents or teachers.

Sharing itself is not hurting our children. Instead, it is the lack of knowledge about sharing that might be hurting our children. Parents and teachers need to educate themselves so that we can pass on digital lessons to the children around us.

At the end of our class, the topic switched to sharing by teachers and who owns the ideas, lessons and final products that teachers create in order to be effective at our jobs.

I know that this is still being hashed out, as to who ultimately owns what – I hope it end up in our favour as what I create I should be able to do whatever I want with.

However, while I love the idea of teacherspayteachers, (and I think that – as I just said – you should be able to do whatever you want with your creations) I never use the site.

I find that I have to change so much to make it meaningful to my students, or I have to completely translate it for my French students… I also find that, a lot of the time, the lessons that are available are worksheet based and are not incredibly engaging anyway.

9083074867_29dbcd5eb2

Photo Credit: wayneandwax via Compfight cc

I’m not sure how to solve the teacherspayteachers problem (and maybe the problem only exists for me?) Either we need to have a lot more sharing (not just worksheets and apple templates) or a little less – sharing ideas and concepts that force people to be a little more creative in order to get something that works for their classroom.

The fact is that we should be sharing.  But maybe what is easily shared isn’t always the top quality, Saskatchewan curriculum focused content that we’d like to see. So, let’s all embrace the inherent contradictions that abound today in our profession!

That being said – If anyone needs some amazing French Kindergarten ideas, you know where to find me!

6 thoughts on “Sea creatures share. Otherwise they’d all be shellfish

  1. danielleistace

    I totally agree with you that it is not sharing that is hurting our children but rather the lack of knowledge about sharing that might be hurting our children. This is important for teachers to wrap their heads around. We need to be “share aware” of what we are putting out there into the online world before we do it rather than after when a problem comes from it!

    Like

    1. I agree! I would definitely rather be proactive than reactive. I guess you could take that a step further and say that developing your digital identity is important – proactive positive online presence, rather than a reactive trying to change what negative might be out there. Who knows though! We’re all learning as we go on this aspect!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed reading your blog post this week Ellen! I liked your comment- “Sharing itself is not hurting our children. Instead, it is the lack of knowledge about sharing that might be hurting our children.” I agree that both teachers and parents need to be educated in how to share appropriately and they need to be good role models. I believe it is important for students need to be taught about digital citizenship in an interactive way and needs to be time for meaningful conversations in the classroom.

    Like

  3. It’s interesting that we stress the importance of sharing with children, yet not with adults; adults are more closed off and resistant towards sharing. Really made me think! Thanks for this insightful blog post this week 🙂 Great job!

    Like

  4. Luke Braun

    Great thoughts Ellen. I’m totally with you as an Immersion teacher. I agree as well that modelling is the key, even at a young age.

    Like

Leave a Reply

