French people are hardcore, they eat pain for breakfast

Welcome to my final post about my learning project. As you know, I started out with an idea to improve my baking skills.  I was already a pretty good dessert chef and I posted a video to show off my skills, making a cake without a recipe. Here is the video, just for reference.

From there, I decided to make a series of French desserts, hopefully scaling upwards from easiest to hardest to make. I chose ten different desserts: Chocolate Mousse, Crème Brulée, Napoleons, Gascon-style Flan, Chocolate Truffles, Madeleines, Macarons, Chocolate Soufflé, Fruit Tarte and Croquembouche.

I was able to make 8 of these 10 recipes. The two I was unable to make were the truffles and the croquembouche. The rest were tackled and went extremely well!

I will now rank them based on difficulty (1 is easy, 10 is hard) and deliciousness (1 is gross, 10 is delicious.)

1) Chocolate Mousse
Difficulty: 6
Deliciousness: 6

2) Crème Brulée
Difficulty: 3
Deliciousness: 9

3) Napoleons
Difficulty: 5
Deliciousness: 4

4) Gascon-style Flan
Difficulty: 5
Deliciousness: -10

5) Madeleines
Difficulty: 2
Deliciousness: 8

6) Macarons
Difficulty: 10
Deliciousness: 9

7) Chocolate Soufflé
Difficulty: 10
Deliciousness: 6

8) Fruit Tarte
Difficulty: 5
Deliciousness: 8

IMG_4530 IMG_4360

The two best and easiest desserts were, by far, the Madeleines and the Creme Brulee.

There you have it! I had never made any of these recipes before attempting to learn about them through this class. Now I have a whole French baking skill set!

Merci beaucoup!

One thought on “French people are hardcore, they eat pain for breakfast

  1. Pingback: Ready, Set, EdTech: Round Two! – Ellen Lague

Leave a Reply

