Olé, Olé, Soufflé

This week, I attempted to make a soufflé.  I say attempted because it did not go well.  This was the second of my “most challenging” section of French desserts and challenging it was.

At first, when reading recipes on Pinterest, I thought that the soufflé wouldn’t be terribly hard.  Honestly, I am trying to approach all of my desserts from a growth mindset, which is that it isn’t hard – it’ll just take some extra time.

eU_aH2phicd79Wi_Vrpmq8xjDdKgTodSaOAOrQGK9cQ

Photo Credit: Carol Dweck via Reddit cc

This is the video that I decided to take my recipe from:

Although I used the recipe from the video, I cross referenced it with this recipe, which is very similar.

Now, although I was trying to approach this from a growth mindset and not think that this dessert was too hard, something went incredibly wrong and my soufflés did not turn out at all.

But! This was an opportunity to try again. Mistakes help me learn! So, I watched the video again, searched for helpful soufflé making tips (along the way, I found a video on how to separate the egg yolks from the whites, which would have been incredibly helpful at the start of my learning project, months ago.)

After watching the video again and searching for tips, I tried again and it turned out really well!

Final Verdict: WOW!

Maybe I’m overselling it. My soufflé certainly didn’t rise as much as it was supposed to.  But my husband and cousin liked them! I forgot to take a picture when I pulled it out of the oven, and then you have to eat it right away. But, here is a soufflé that looked similar to mine.

2476724133_009b39f426

Photo Credit: stu_spivack via Compfight cc

2 thoughts on “Olé, Olé, Soufflé

  1. Pingback: French people are hardcore, they eat pain for breakfast – Ellen Lague

Leave a Reply

