Fruit Tart

This week I continued onward on my quest of learning French desserts. I was able to move from the intermediate portion of my desserts, to the harder portion.

The first dessert I made from the harder section of my French dessert list is Classic French Fruit Tart.  I’m not quite sure why I put this dessert in the “hard” section of the list, I believe that I watched an episode of MasterChef once where the challenge was a fruit tart. It looked difficult, based on that episode and, obviously, if I was in the same room as Gordon Ramsey, I would think that the task was even harder as I tried to impress!

Nevertheless, this week’s challenge wasn’t too much of a challenge.  I found the recipe for a Fruit Tart on Pinterest, from Rainbow Delicious‘ blog.   The recipe originated from a cookbook by Ina Garten.

Before making the fruit tart, I watched a couple of videos that described the process.  My favourite was this one, which made the process seem simple.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wnAtFz-BFLg&ab_channel=JoyofBaking

These are the ingredients for the Fruit Tart:

Crust
  • 1 1/4 C flour
  • 3 T sugar
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 8 T unsalted butter
  • 3-4 T ice water
Custard Filling
  • 3 extra large egg yolks at room temperature
  • 6 T sugar
  • 1 1/2 T cornstarch
  • 1 C milk
  • 1 T unsalted butter
  • 1 T heavy cream
  • 1/2 t cognac or brandy (or vanilla)
  • Toppings
  • Assorted fruits*
  • 1/2 C Apricot Jelly**

The crust, I think, was the trickiest part.  I have to admit, I had help at this point.  My husband worked in a bakery for part of his high school career and I usually get his help when it comes to dough.

We followed the recipe, until it got to the part where you have to “cut in the butter with a pasty knife.” I do not own a pastry knife and so, upon googling the answer, found out that you can use several regular knives in place of a pastry knife.

Here is a video of that process:

The pastry cream was very similar to another recipe I tried, earlier in the semester, that of the Mille-Feuille.

The last step was arranging the fruit. I have to admit, I didn’t really think this step through and, instead of creating some sort of pattern so that you could have multiple fruits in once slice, I arranged them so that you really just had one fruit… Something to work on for next time!

Final Verdict: Amazing!

The fruit tart turned out amazingly well.  I was able to serve it to a friend (unfortunately her husband has Celiac’s and was unable to try it, due to all the terrible gluten in the crust) my husband and one of my roommates.  The tart got a thumbs up from everyone who ate it!

IMG_4645

One thought on “Fruit Tart

  1. Pingback: French people are hardcore, they eat pain for breakfast – Ellen Lague

Leave a Reply

