Flan-tastic!

This week I moved from “beginner” level French desserts to “intermediate” level French desserts. I have these in quotation marks because I’m not sure if the flan was supposed to go into the intermediate section or not!

First – I need to clarify. I made a Gâteau Millasson, or, Gascon-Style Flan.  Classic French flans are like custard pies, making them similar to crème brûlée and the custard in the mille-feuilles.  However, there are many, many different types of flan.  There are also many arguments on the internet about the differences between types of flan. Each country/region also has variations and different names as well.   usual, I narrowed down the recipes I wanted to use.  I decided to go with this one, from

To start my very own flan, I narrowed down the recipes I wanted to use.  I decided to go with this one, from Saveur.  I also found a video, which used almost the exact same recipe.

As you can see, it is relatively simple to make and is the first dessert where I don’t have to separate the egg yolks from the whites! I decided to use Snapchat to document my dessert skills this week, since that was the topic of our readings. I added all my snaps of the process in My Story on the app, then saved the resulting video and later uploaded it to youtube.

If someone wanted to try a snap story for their project, I would reccomend changing the display time for each picture. My video works, but it’s a little slow! (Except for the last picture, which is way too fast! Trial and error, guys.)

Final Verdict: Kind of Gross

I’m pretty sure that this turned out how it was supposed to. All the pictures that I’ve seen on the internet are similar to what was created. However, I did not enjoy this dessert at all.  There’s no great was to describe this, but it definitely tasted weird, like a cake that wasn’t cooked or maybe jello that was cooked for some reason?

Has anyone ever had this type of flan before? I’ve never tried it before making it, so I can’t be 100% sure that I made it correctly, but if I did, I don’t think I’ll be making it again!

2 thoughts on “Flan-tastic!

  1. It’s too bad that you didn’t like it! I’ve never had flan before, but I know that a cheesecake would not disappoint. If you’re looking for a new project, Martha Stewart’s classic cheesecake recipe is amazing and fool-proof.

    Like

  2. Pingback: French people are hardcore, they eat pain for breakfast – Ellen Lague

Leave a Reply

