Crème Brûlée

This week I was able to finally make one of my favourite desserts to get in a restaurant, crème brûlée.  I originally planned to do this dessert earlier in my project, since it seems like a simple recipe, but when I explained my project to my sister, I was told I needed to make it when she was in town.

She’s currently in Edmonton, getting her MSc in Speech-Language Pathology and she would be coming back home for the February break, so I had to wait until this week to make the dessert. Luckily for me, I listened to her and waited until Valentine’s Day to start making the crème brûlée.

Valentine's Crème Brûlée! How fitting!
Valentine’s Crème Brûlée! How fitting!

Photo Credit: katrina.alana via Compfight cc

To prepare, I went through my normal recipes that I collected on Pinterest. I had three good recipes to choose from – Chef in Training’s recipe, Cinnamon Spice and Everything Nice’s recipe and Cooking Classy’s recipe.  All three were pretty similar. I wanted to make a classic crème brûlée and all of these recipes were very standard.

In a crème brûlée, you need heavy cream, sugar, egg yolks and vanilla. The only thing that differed in the recipes were the amounts of each item. I waffled for a while, trying to decide which recipe to go with. When I searched for “how to make the perfect crème brûlée” or “how many eggs should go in a crème brûlée?” I got articles like these, which detailed the perfect ratio of cream to eggs, or debated the amounts of different ingredients by making a bunch of different recipes.

Finally, while thinking my plan over and slightly procrastinating, I noticed on Facebook that one of my friends had liked another Tasty video. (I mentioned these videos in my first post about my Learning Project and even attempted to recreate a Tasty video with my first recipe – a “no recipe chocolate cake.”) The video the friend had liked was a time lapse of a crème brûlée! And it was posted just a few days before I made my own version! Hurrah!

Needless to say, I decided to go with the recipe from the video.  The article gave me the measurements.

  • 4 cups heavy cream
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup in mixture and 1/2 cup for crust

A simple recipe, and one that I can redo if it doesn’t go well. I bought double the number of ingredients, just in case.  (I figured if this recipe didn’t go well, I would try another recipe from my online search.)

Here’s the video that led to me picking this recipe.

I followed the directions exactly, which were not difficult to follow. I heated the cream and the vanilla, then combined it with the egg yolk and sugar. The mixture went into ramekins. The ramekins went into a pan, it was half filled with water and then the whole thing went into the oven for 50 minutes.

When I pulled the custard out of the oven at the 50-minute mark, I was a little worried.  The recipe called for the mixture to be “set, but still a little jiggly in the middle.” It was still really jiggly, so I quickly searched for a youtube clip to show me if I was doing it correctly and I found this:

He describes the process really well, so I was a little less worried. By the time they had cooled and came out of the fridge for the sugar/burning part, they were perfectly set!

I put a small amount of sugar on the tops of each of the ramekins and burnt it with a torch that I got as a wedding present.  At the end, it looked really good!

IMG_4360
My own crème brûlée

Final Verdict: AMAZING!

My parents were also in town, so I served the crème brûlée for dessert and everyone really liked it. My sister even posted an artsy shot on Instagram. It turned out really well, maybe still slightly too runny, but that could be easily fixed if I were to make it again but leaving it in the oven for a minute or two longer.

Another bit of good news: my parents live on a farm and brought me a bunch of eggs for the rest of my project. I’m finding out that I use so many eggs for each recipe, I hope I have enough now!

All the eggs!
All the eggs!
6 thoughts on “Crème Brûlée

  1. Kristina Boutilier

    Drool!!! I’ve always wanted to make creme brûlée, but always thought it was too complicated. You have motivated me to give it a try!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: French people are hardcore, they eat pain for breakfast – Ellen Lague

Leave a Reply

