To Become a Baker Extraordinaire

For my Learning Project, I decided to improve my baking skills, specifically with French desserts.

In my last post, I mentioned that I had found a gallery of French desserts and I would pick ten of the desserts to try over the course of the semester.  I made sure to pick desserts that I’ve never tried to make before.

I wanted to scale my learning, so I decided to try and categorize the desserts from easiest to hardest.  Using The Cordon Bleu PDF I found online, I was able to categorize half of the desserts based on which module they fell under. For the other half, I looked at some recipes online and moved them into a category based on the ease of the recipe.  The three categories I used are the three courses offered by the Cordon Bleu in Ottawa, Basic (Easy), Intermediate (Medium) and Superior (Hard).

Here are my desserts, categorized by level:

Basic French Desserts 

Chocolate Mousse

Crème Brulée

Napoleons

4167113976_4416456989

Photo Credit: rofi via Compfight cc

Intermediate French Desserts

Gascon-style Flan

Chocolate Truffles

Madeleines

Macarons

2419475576_cff6548203

Photo Credit: Pimoo via Compfight cc

Superior French Desserts

Chocolate Soufflé

Fruit Tarte

Croquembouche

4457422194_ba79d0f27f

Photo Credit: Anz-i via Compfight cc

After I had decided which desserts I would attempt, I turned to my trusty Pinterest account, to find some recipes for each of my desserts. Now I should be all ready to begin my learning project!

But!

I have to establish a baseline!

I wrote last time that my friend thinks that I am an awful baker, but honestly, I have practiced quite a bit. My baking usually turns out for me.  I follow a recipe, read all the directions and usually, a great dessert appears at the end.

In order to establish a baking baseline, I decided to make a cake from scratch, with no recipe at all.  From previous experience, I knew what to put into a chocolate cake.  I wrote my list down and added amounts beside each item. (Kind of feeling like this mini chef.)

IMG_4271

Once I had created my own recipe, I decide to record myself making the chocolate cake! My inspiration for the video is from the Tasty videos that have been appearing on Facebook quite often.

Here is my no recipe chocolate cake!

It turned out really well! Turns out I needed more milk than I had originally planned, so I added more off-camera at one point. But otherwise, no movie magic! It tasted as good as it looks. I brought it to my inlaws for supper and my father-in-law had seconds! (He’s a picky eater, so this is a clear marker of my success!)

IMG_4270

With this recipe under my belt, I am excited to try my first French dessert. I’ve decided it will be Chocolate Mousse! Stay tuned!

6 thoughts on “To Become a Baker Extraordinaire

    1. Thanks so much! I set up a DSLR camera on a tripod to record and then edited the footage with Adobe Premier Pro. Luckily for me, my husband has his Masters of Fine Arts in Film and Print Media, so he is able to help me out a lot with camera work and editing tools!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Crème Brulée – Ellen Lague

Leave a Reply

