Let them eat cake!

A party without cake is just a meeting – Julia Child

It took me a long time to decide on my learning project for my EC&I 831 class.  I had numerous ideas that I wrote down and debated – with myself, with my husband, with coworkers and friends.  Until a friend, staying with us before her trip to Cuba, laughed and said “You should learn how to bake. You’re terrible at it.”

4640883037_f97d27f9c9

Photo Credit: Akane86 via Compfight cc

I protested, because she’s known me since I was 8 – “Hey! I’ve learned how to bake! I’m okay at it now!”

Again, she laughed. And proceeded to tell my husband the story (again) of how I once made a cake and instead of adding 3/4 cups of water to the recipe, I added 3 or 4 cups of water.  I made the rest of the recipe correctly and I somehow pulled an inedible cement block of cake out of the oven later.

She came over to my house the same day of the cake incident and my mom told the two of us to go outside and do something.  We took the cement cake to the barn (as 12-year-olds this was a good idea.) When we threw the cake against the barn wall, it didn’t even break. (My friend has this story down pat, trust me.)

Now, some fifteen years later, I’ve honestly learned how to cook. I can even bake a little.  I have a Pinterest board, full of recipes of food. Some of the recipes are even desserts. They are mostly near the bottom, since it was fun to pin them at one point. A long time ago.  Out of all of the dessert recipes I have on Pinterest, I have made maybe five of them.  If they worked, I’ve made them again – some of them multiple times.

13159430843_b23fee2f7e

Photo Credit: Elton E Photography via Compfight cc

So, after reflecting, I decided that I wanted to learn how to be a better baker. Specifically, a better French baker.  Essentially the opposite of Heather’s amazing idea.  My goal is to pick a few French dessert recipes from the internet and try to recreate them at home. I have a list to pick from – I know how much the internet loves lists. I found this one – 50 French Dessert Recipes.

For my project, I intend to pick ten desserts from the list and arrange them in order of easiest to hardest, trying to scaffold my French dessert learnings.  I’m still working out how to rank them from easiest to hardest. I found the Cordon Bleu of Ottawa’s PDF online of the requirements for their Diplôme de Pâtisserie. I thought that maybe I could see where the ten desserts I picked would fall in the modules – basic, intermediate or superior.

I am excited to use Pinterest, videos, cooking blogs and websites in my quest to learn how to make delicious French desserts!

 

3 thoughts on “Let them eat cake!

  1. ashleypmurray

    I am looking forward to testing some of your baking out on the last day of class pizza party 😉 haha. Sounds like a great project. I’m sure you will have a lot of fun with it.

    Like

  2. Pingback: To Become a Baker Extraordinaire – Ellen Lague

  3. Pingback: French people are hardcore, they eat pain for breakfast – Ellen Lague

Leave a Reply

